
West Virginia University · Lane Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, Statler College
Cybersecurity, B.S.
Overview
A 122-credit Bachelor of Science in Cybersecurity in the Statler College's Lane Department, combining computer science and computer engineering foundations with courses in secure software, incident response, host-based defense, penetration testing, cryptography, information ethics and cybercrime, and a two-part capstone. An Artificial Intelligence area of emphasis is available.
- Official program name
- Cybersecurity, B.S.
- Awarded degree
- Bachelor of Science · major: CybersecuritySource: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Degree level
- Bachelor's
- Cybersecurity focus
- Dedicated cybersecurity degreeThe degree itself is in cybersecurity or a closely related security field (information security, information assurance, cyber operations, digital forensics…).Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- School
- West Virginia University — Lane Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, Statler CollegeSource: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Location
- Morgantown, WV
- Specializations
- Incident Response — core of the degree (“Computer Incident Response and Host Based Cyber Defense (required)”)Software & Application Security — core of the degree (“Secure Software Development (required)”)
- Tracks / concentrations
- Area of Emphasis in Artificial IntelligenceSource: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Required credits
- Minimum of 122 credit hoursSource: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Duration
- Not verified
Entry pathway
Not verified whether this degree admits first-year students or only applicants with prior credits.
Why this program is listed
Dedicated BS in Cybersecurity at WVU Morgantown.
Degree title is cybersecurity; required courses include Foundations of Cybersecurity, Secure Software Development, Computer Incident Response, Host Based Cyber Defense, Ethical Hacking & Penetration Testing and Introduction to Cryptography.
Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026We list cybersecurity bachelor's, master's and research doctorates at institutionally accredited US schools — dedicated degrees and formal concentrations, never certificates or electives-only degrees. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Formats offered
- On campusSource: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Internship
- Internship requirement: not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
Curriculum
Lab environment
- Teaching laboratory with 60 high-performance computers booting Linux and WindowsSource: wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Capstone
- Two-semester capstone (design and implementation)Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Admissions
Technical preparation
- Mathematics prerequisite
- RequiredCalculus 1 and 2, Introduction to Cryptography and Probability and Statistics with C- or betterSource: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Tests
Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| In-state — Undergraduate, WVU Morgantown, in-state tuition and fees per year (college tuition charged in addition)From the school-wide rate table for this level | $11,064 | per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026 |
| Out-of-state — Undergraduate, WVU Morgantown, out-of-state tuition and fees per year (college tuition charged in addition)From the school-wide rate table for this level | $32,256 | per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026 |
Other published fees
- College tuition charged in addition by the program (amount not printed on this page)
- Amount not statedMandatorySource: wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Scholarships and funding
Department of Defense-funded cybersecurity scholarships Service scholarship
Service scholarships carry a service obligation; the school's page did not state its terms.
Source: wvu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.
Accreditation, ABET and CAE
Institutional accreditation
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
ABET program accreditation
Accredited by ABET — listed as “Cybersecurity (BS), CAC” · since October 1, 2020Source: amspub.abet.org · verified October 11, 2026
NSA CAE designation (school)
- CAE in Cyber Defense (CAE-CD) · 2001 - 2027Validated program(s) of study: Cybersecurity, B.S. (POS-CD)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
- CAE in Cyber Research (CAE-R) · 2010 - 2029Validated program(s) of study: Cybersecurity, B.S. (POS-CD)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
A CAE designation belongs to the institution and its validated program of study; it is not accreditation and does not certify every degree. Accreditation & CAE explained
Sources and verification
- ABET accredited-program database (amspub.abet.org) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
- catalog.wvu.edu/graduate/collegeofengineeringandmineralresources/thelanedepartmentofcomputersciencea — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
- catalog.wvu.edu/undergraduate/collegeofengineeringandmineralresources/lanedepartmentofcomputerscienc — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
- NCAE-C institution directory (National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity) — Source, verified October 11, 2026
- DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- wvu.edu/academics/programs/cybersecurity-bs/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- wvu.edu/tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Cyber Security Major (B.S./B.A.)
Cybersecurity Degrees is independent and not affiliated with West Virginia University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.