
Boise State University · School of Computing
PhD in Computing — Cybersecurity Emphasis
Overview
A 60-credit PhD in Computing with a Cybersecurity emphasis from the School of Computing, combining cybersecurity coursework in cryptography, software and network security, cyber-physical systems and forensics with electives, a comprehensive exam and a 30-credit dissertation. Fall admission only.
- Official program name
- Ph.D. in Computing — Cybersecurity Emphasis
- Awarded degree
- Doctor of Philosophy · major: ComputingSource: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Degree level
- Doctoral — research doctorate
- Cybersecurity focus
- Cybersecurity concentration — Cybersecurity EmphasisA formal cybersecurity concentration, track or specialization inside a broader degree such as computer science or information technology. The awarded degree is the broader one.Source: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- School
- Source: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Location
- Boise, ID
- Specializations
- Digital Forensics — formal concentration / track (“Group 5: Forensics”)Critical Infrastructure Security — formal concentration / track (“Group 4: Cyber-Physical Systems”)
- Required credits
- 60 credits including a 30-credit dissertationSource: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Duration
- Not verified
- Start terms
- FallSource: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Why this program is listed
Research PhD in Computing with a formally documented Cybersecurity emphasis and a dissertation.
Formal emphasis requiring CYBER 500 Introduction to Cybersecurity plus courses from cryptography, software security, network security, cyber-physical systems and digital forensics groups, with a 30-credit dissertation.
Source: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026We list cybersecurity bachelor's, master's and research doctorates at institutionally accredited US schools — dedicated degrees and formal concentrations, never certificates or electives-only degrees. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Formats offered
- On campusSource: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Internship
- Internship requirement: not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
Curriculum
Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Research and doctoral requirements
Qualifying examinations
- Doctoral comprehensive examination (1 credit)Source: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Dissertation
- 30-credit dissertationSource: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Admissions
Technical preparation
- Prerequisite courses
- RequiredUpper-division coursework in data structures and introductory systems programming (CS 253, CS 321 equivalents)Source: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Prior degree
- RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited institutionSource: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Minimum GPA
- RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 in last 40 undergraduate hours (3.3 in a master's program)Source: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Statement / essay
- RequiredStatement of purpose and Computing PhD admission questionnaireSource: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendationSource: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Tests
Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Year not printed
Priority deadline
January 5 (priority, and consideration for program funding) · for Fall
The school does not print a year with this date.
Source: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026 - Year not printed
Application deadline
April 15 (final) · for Fall
The school does not print a year with this date.
Source: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| In-state — Graduate, resident, tuition and fees (9-16 credits) per semesterFrom the school-wide rate table for this level | $5,855.50 | per semester · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026 |
| Out-of-state — Graduate, non-resident, tuition and fees (9-16 credits) per semesterFrom the school-wide rate table for this level | $15,699.50 | per semester · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026 |
Scholarships and funding
Graduate Assistantships Assistantship
Eligibility: Applicants submitting all materials by the January 5 priority deadline are considered; funding limited and not guaranteed
Source: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026BRONCO SHIELD CyberCorps Scholarship for Service Service scholarship
Full tuition; $37,000 annual stipend for graduate students; $6,000 professional development allowance
Service scholarships carry a service obligation; the school's page did not state its terms.
Source: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026BRONCO SHIELD CyberCorps Scholarship for Service (SFS) Service scholarship
Full tuition; annual stipend of $27,000 (undergraduates) or $37,000 (graduate students); health insurance support; $6,000 annual professional development allowance
Service scholarships carry a service obligation; the school's page did not state its terms.
Source: boisestate.edu · verified October 11, 2026
School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.
Accreditation, ABET and CAE
Institutional accreditation
- Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
ABET program accreditation
This program does not appear in ABET's accredited-program database. ABET accreditation is program-specific and optional; the school's other programs or its institutional accreditation do not imply it.
NSA CAE designation (school)
- CAE in Cyber Defense (CAE-CD) · 2022 - 2027Validated program(s) of study: Cybersecurity Emphasis in BS of Computer Science (POS-CD)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
- CAE in Cyber Research (CAE-R) · 2025 - 2030Validated program(s) of study: Cybersecurity Emphasis in BS of Computer Science (POS-CD)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
A CAE designation belongs to the institution and its validated program of study; it is not accreditation and does not certify every degree. Accreditation & CAE explained
Sources and verification
- NCAE-C institution directory (National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity) — Source, verified October 11, 2026
- DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- boisestate.edu/computing/academics/doctoral-program/application-requirements-ph-d/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- boisestate.edu/computing/academics/doctoral-program/bronco-shield-scholarship/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- boisestate.edu/computing/academics/doctoral-program/cybersecurity/cybersecurity-ph-d/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- boisestate.edu/computing/programs/doctoral-program/deadlines/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- boisestate.edu/computing/programs/doctoral-program/funding/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- boisestate.edu/sfs/boise-state-university-fees/graduate-tuition-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Cybersecurity Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Boise State University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.