
University of Arizona · Management Information Systems (Eller College of Management), Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Systems and Industrial Engineering
Master of Science in Cybersecurity
Overview
A 33-credit online Master of Science in Cybersecurity run jointly by Eller's Management Information Systems department and the College of Engineering, with a 12-unit common core and a 21-unit Information Systems or Physical Systems track; designed for working professionals.
- Official program name
- Master of Science in Cybersecurity
- Awarded degree
- Master of Science · major: CybersecuritySource: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- Cybersecurity focus
- Dedicated cybersecurity degreeThe degree itself is in cybersecurity or a closely related security field (information security, information assurance, cyber operations, digital forensics…).Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- School
- University of Arizona — Management Information Systems (Eller College of Management), Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Systems and Industrial EngineeringSource: online.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Location
- Tucson, AZFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
- Specializations
- None mapped from official curriculum evidence
- Tracks / concentrations
- Information Systems Track · Physical Systems TrackSource: online.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Required credits
- 33 units: 12 units of Common Core and 21 units of the selected trackSource: online.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Duration
- Not verified
Why this program is listed
Dedicated MS in Cybersecurity offered 100% online through Arizona Online.
Degree title is Cybersecurity; common core in information security, networking, systems cyber security engineering and trustworthy security systems, followed by an Information Systems or Physical Systems track.
Source: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026We list cybersecurity bachelor's, master's and research doctorates at institutionally accredited US schools — dedicated degrees and formal concentrations, never certificates or electives-only degrees. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Formats offered
- OnlineSource: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Online delivery
- Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.All coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.Source: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Campus visits (online option)
- Campus visits: not verified
- Class schedule (online option)
- Not verified
- Internship
- Internship requirement: not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
The program page does not say whether the online option requires campus visits. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.
Curriculum
Capstone
- Information Systems track includes MIS 689 Cyber Warfare Capstone.Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Academic calendar
- Six admission dates per year; accelerated 7-week courses (Information Systems track) or 16-week format (Physical Systems track).Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Other
- Students need Python and probability and statistics knowledge and must pass a skills test before courses with those prerequisites.Source: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Admissions
Technical preparation
- Work experience
- OptionalAt least one of: three years of technical work experience, a relevant industry certificate (CISSP, CRISC, CISM), or a recent undergraduate degree in a related fieldSource: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Prior degree
- RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university (or U.S.-comparable degree for international students)Source: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Minimum GPA
- RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher (probationary start available below 3.0)Source: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendationSource: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Résumé / CV
- RequiredCurrent resumeSource: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Application fee
- Required$90 — $90 Graduate College application feeSource: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Tests
- IELTS Academic
- Required — minimum 7International applicants only (no subject area below 6); TOEFL also accepted.Source: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- TOEFL iBT
- Required — minimum 90International applicants; 90 iBT for tests before January 21, 2026, 4.0 on the 1-6 scale afterwards.Source: cybersecurity.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All students — Cost per credit (Arizona Online) | $1,250 | per creditCalculated tuition$41,250 = 33 credits × $1,250 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026 |
Scholarships and funding
AZSecure Cybersecurity Scholarship-for-Service Service scholarship
Service scholarships carry a service obligation; the school's page did not state its terms.
How to apply: Program page lists the NSF SFS grant period 8/01/2019-7/31/2024; current availability not stated.
Source: eller.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.
Accreditation, ABET and CAE
Institutional accreditation
- WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
ABET program accreditation
This program does not appear in ABET's accredited-program database. ABET accreditation is program-specific and optional; the school's other programs or its institutional accreditation do not imply it.
NSA CAE designation (school)
- CAE in Cyber Defense (CAE-CD) · 2009 - 2027Validated program(s) of study: Bachelor of Science (BS) Applied Science Applied Computing emphasis in Applied Artificial Intelligence (POS-CyberAI); BAS in Cyber Operations (POS-CO); Master of Science in Management Information Systems, Concentration: AZSecure (POS-CD)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
- CAE in Cyber Operations (CAE-CO) · 2018 - 2030Validated program(s) of study: Bachelor of Science (BS) Applied Science Applied Computing emphasis in Applied Artificial Intelligence (POS-CyberAI); BAS in Cyber Operations (POS-CO); Master of Science in Management Information Systems, Concentration: AZSecure (POS-CD)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
- CAE in Cyber Research (CAE-R) · 2017 - 2030Validated program(s) of study: Bachelor of Science (BS) Applied Science Applied Computing emphasis in Applied Artificial Intelligence (POS-CyberAI); BAS in Cyber Operations (POS-CO); Master of Science in Management Information Systems, Concentration: AZSecure (POS-CD)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
A CAE designation belongs to the institution and its validated program of study; it is not accreditation and does not certify every degree. Accreditation & CAE explained
State authorization (online students)
Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Arizona.
International applicants
- The MS in Cyber Operations is available to domestic and international students through the Arizona Online campus.Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Sources and verification
- cybersecurity.arizona.edu/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- cybersecurity.arizona.edu/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
- eller.arizona.edu/departments-research/centers-labs/artificial-intelligence/research/sfs — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- NCAE-C institution directory (National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity) — Source, verified October 11, 2026
- online.arizona.edu/programs/graduate/online-master-science-cybersecurity-ms — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
American Public University System
Master of Science in Cybersecurity Studies
M.S. in Information Security (MSIS)
Cybersecurity Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Arizona. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.