
University of Arizona · College of Information Science
Master of Science in Cyber Operations
Overview
A 30-unit, fully online Master of Science in Cyber Operations from the College of Information Science, completed with a master's report or thesis; full-time students can typically finish in 12 months.
- Official program name
- Master of Science in Cyber Operations
- Awarded degree
- Master of Science · major: Cyber & Information OperationsSource: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- Cybersecurity focus
- Dedicated cybersecurity degreeThe degree itself is in cybersecurity or a closely related security field (information security, information assurance, cyber operations, digital forensics…).Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- School
- Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Location
- Tucson, AZFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
- Specializations
- Cyber Operations — core of the degree
- Required credits
- 30 unitsSource: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Duration
- can typically be completed in 12 months for full-time students (full-time)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Start terms
- Fall, SpringSource: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Why this program is listed
Dedicated cyber operations master's offered fully online (applied to as Cyber & Information Operations (MS)).
Cyber operations master's with core courses in traffic analysis, covert Python, cloud security and AI foundations in cyber operations.
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026We list cybersecurity bachelor's, master's and research doctorates at institutionally accredited US schools — dedicated degrees and formal concentrations, never certificates or electives-only degrees. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Formats offered
- OnlineSource: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Online delivery
- Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.All coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Campus visits (online option)
- Campus visits: not verified
- Class schedule (online option)
- Not verified
- Internship
- Internship requirement: not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
The program page does not say whether the online option requires campus visits. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.
Curriculum
Thesis and non-thesis options
- A master's report or thesis is required.Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Admissions
Technical preparation
- Programming prerequisite
- Not requiredNo programming experience required for admission; applicants without recent programming (preferably Python) take CYBV 500 Security Programming or pass the internal Python Challenge.Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Prior degree
- RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited universitySource: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Minimum GPA
- RequiredMinimum 3 — Grade point average of 3.0 or higherSource: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Statement / essay
- Required750- to 1,000-word Statement of PurposeSource: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Tests
- GRE General Test
- Not requiredMay be submitted optionally.Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Year not printed
Funding / assistantship consideration
March 1 · for Fall
The school does not print a year with this date.
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026 - Year not printed
Application deadline
June 1 · for Fall
The school does not print a year with this date.
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026 - Year not printed
International applicants
August 1 · for Spring
The school does not print a year with this date.
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026 - Year not printed
Application deadline
November 16 · for Spring
The school does not print a year with this date.
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All students — Per unit | $750 | per creditCalculated tuition$22,500 = 30 credits × $750 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026 |
Other published fees
- Program fee for 7+ units
- $53 per termSource: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Scholarships and funding
AZSecure Cybersecurity Scholarship-for-Service Service scholarship
Service scholarships carry a service obligation; the school's page did not state its terms.
How to apply: Program page lists the NSF SFS grant period 8/01/2019-7/31/2024; current availability not stated.
Source: eller.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.
Accreditation, ABET and CAE
Institutional accreditation
- WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
ABET program accreditation
This program does not appear in ABET's accredited-program database. ABET accreditation is program-specific and optional; the school's other programs or its institutional accreditation do not imply it.
NSA CAE designation (school)
- CAE in Cyber Defense (CAE-CD) · 2009 - 2027Validated program(s) of study: Bachelor of Science (BS) Applied Science Applied Computing emphasis in Applied Artificial Intelligence (POS-CyberAI); BAS in Cyber Operations (POS-CO); Master of Science in Management Information Systems, Concentration: AZSecure (POS-CD)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
- CAE in Cyber Operations (CAE-CO) · 2018 - 2030Validated program(s) of study: Bachelor of Science (BS) Applied Science Applied Computing emphasis in Applied Artificial Intelligence (POS-CyberAI); BAS in Cyber Operations (POS-CO); Master of Science in Management Information Systems, Concentration: AZSecure (POS-CD)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
- CAE in Cyber Research (CAE-R) · 2017 - 2030Validated program(s) of study: Bachelor of Science (BS) Applied Science Applied Computing emphasis in Applied Artificial Intelligence (POS-CyberAI); BAS in Cyber Operations (POS-CO); Master of Science in Management Information Systems, Concentration: AZSecure (POS-CD)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
A CAE designation belongs to the institution and its validated program of study; it is not accreditation and does not certify every degree. Accreditation & CAE explained
State authorization (online students)
Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Arizona.
International applicants
- The MS in Cyber Operations is available to domestic and international students through the Arizona Online campus.Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Sources and verification
- eller.arizona.edu/departments-research/centers-labs/artificial-intelligence/research/sfs — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- infosci.arizona.edu/ms-cyber-operations — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- infosci.arizona.edu/ms-cyber-operations/admissions-cost — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
- NCAE-C institution directory (National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity) — Source, verified October 11, 2026
- DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Master of Science in Cybersecurity
Master of Science in Cyber Operations and Resilience
Cybersecurity Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Arizona. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.