Skip to content
CybersecurityDegrees
University of West Florida logo

University of West Florida · Department of Cybersecurity and Information Technology

Cybersecurity, B.S.

Bachelor'sBSDedicated degreeOn campusABET-accredited

Overview

A 120-semester-hour B.S. with a 51-hour major covering malware analysis, database security, penetration testing, network security, secure software development and Linux administration, plus a capstone project. An optional Cybersecurity Artificial Intelligence specialization is available.

Official program name
Cybersecurity, B.S.
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science · major: Cybersecurity
Source: catalog.uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Cybersecurity focus
Dedicated cybersecurity degreeThe degree itself is in cybersecurity or a closely related security field (information security, information assurance, cyber operations, digital forensics…).
Source: catalog.uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026
School
Source: uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Pensacola, FL
Specializations
AI & Security — formal concentration / track (“Cybersecurity Artificial Intelligence Specialization”)Software & Application Security — core of the degree (“Secure Software Development; Malware Analysis; Database Security”)Network Security — core of the degree (“Computer and Network Security; Cyber Operations with Defensive AI”)
Tracks / concentrations
Cybersecurity Artificial Intelligence
Source: catalog.uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
120 semester hours
Source: catalog.uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified

Entry pathway

Not verified whether this degree admits first-year students or only applicants with prior credits.

Why this program is listed

Dedicated B.S. in Cybersecurity in the 2026-2027 catalog, offered in Pensacola and at UWF Emerald Coast.

Major is Cybersecurity (CIP 11.1003); required courses include malware analysis, secure software development, database security, penetration testing, computer and network security and cyber operations.

Source: catalog.uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list cybersecurity bachelor's, master's and research doctorates at institutionally accredited US schools — dedicated degrees and formal concentrations, never certificates or electives-only degrees. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus
Source: uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Minimum C- in major courses with a cumulative major GPA of 2.5 or higher
    Source: catalog.uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Lab environment

  • Cybersecurity lab and regional cyber competitions
    Source: uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Capstone

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Undergraduate, Florida (Pensacola campus)From the school-wide rate table for this level$213.23per credit · 2026-2027Calculated tuition$25,587.60 = 120 credits × $213.23 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Undergraduate, Alabama resident (Pensacola campus)From the school-wide rate table for this level$318.23per credit · 2026-2027Calculated tuition$38,187.60 = 120 credits × $318.23 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Out-of-state — Undergraduate, Non-Florida (Pensacola campus)From the school-wide rate table for this level$707.03per credit · 2026-2027Calculated tuition$84,843.60 = 120 credits × $707.03 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Scholarships & funding guide
  • UWF CyberAI SFS FORCE Program Service scholarship

    Full tuition for up to two years plus annual stipend

    Eligibility: Full-time students in the BS in Cybersecurity, including AI Specialization, who are U.S. citizens or LPRs

    Service scholarships carry a service obligation; the school's page did not state its terms.

    Source: uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • UWF CyberAI Scholarship for Service: Future Operations, Resilience, and Career Ecosystem (FORCE) Program Service scholarship

    Full tuition for up to two years; annual stipend of $27,000 (undergraduate) or $37,000 (graduate); professional development allowance up to $6,000 per academic year

    Eligibility: U.S. citizen or Lawful Permanent Resident; enrolled full-time in an eligible UWF program (including the BS and MS in Cybersecurity); minimum 3.25/4.0 GPA; undergraduates must have completed at least 60 credit hours

    Obligation: Work for a government organization post-graduation for the number of years of the scholarship award; complete one summer internship of at least 10 weeks with a government organization.

    How to apply: Application form, unofficial transcripts, 2-page letter of intent, at least two letters of professional recommendation

    Deadline: October 2, 2026 (Cohort 1 starts Spring 2027, Cohort 2 Fall 2027)

    Source: uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • UWF CyberAI SFS FORCE - stipend Service scholarship

    $27,000 per year for undergraduate students. $37,000 per year for graduate students.

    Eligibility: U.S. citizen or Lawful Permanent Resident (LPR)

    Service scholarships carry a service obligation; the school's page did not state its terms.

    Source: uwf.edu · verified October 11, 2026

School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, ABET and CAE

Three different things: the school's institutional accreditation, ABET accreditation of this exact program, and the school's NSA CAE designation.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

ABET program accreditation

Accredited by ABET — listed as “Cybersecurity (Bachelor of Science (BS)), CAC” · since October 1, 2019Source: amspub.abet.org · verified October 11, 2026

NSA CAE designation (school)

  • CAE in Cyber Defense (CAE-CD) · 2016 - 2028Validated program(s) of study: Bachelor of Science in Cybersecurity (POS-CD); BS in Cybersecurity, with specialization in Artificial Intelligence (POS-CyberAI)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026

A CAE designation belongs to the institution and its validated program of study; it is not accreditation and does not certify every degree. Accreditation & CAE explained

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. ABET accredited-program database (amspub.abet.org) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  2. catalog.uwf.edu/undergraduate/cybersecurity/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  3. NCAE-C institution directory (National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity) — Source, verified October 11, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  5. uwf.edu/centers/cybersecurity-and-ai/education/uwf-cyberai-sfs-force-program/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. uwf.edu/finance-and-administration/departments/controllers-office/student-accounts-and-cashier/tuiti — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. uwf.edu/hmcse/departments/cybersecurity-information-technology/programs/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  8. uwf.edu/programs/hmcse/cybersecurity-bs/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  9. uwf.edu/programs/hmcse/cybersecurity-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Cybersecurity (BS)

Bachelor'sBSDedicated degreeBachelor of Science
Format: Campus · Online · Asynchronous
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: $443 per credit · In-state — ODUGlobal online, Virginia residents (includes $162 mandatory auxiliary tuition) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation and designation: School designated CAE-CD, CAE-CO, CAE-RNSA CAE designation of the institution, not accreditation
Specializations: AI & Security · Governance, Risk & Compliance
View program

Cybersecurity Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of West Florida. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.