Skip to content
CybersecurityDegrees
Towson University logo

Towson University

MS in Applied Information Technology — Information Security and Assurance Concentration

Master'sMSConcentrationOn campusOnline

Overview

A 30-unit MS in Applied Information Technology in which students complete an integrated Information Security and Assurance graduate certificate, finishing with a case study course; the specialization can be completed 100% online.

Official program name
Master of Science in Applied Information Technology — Information Security and Assurance
Awarded degree
Master of Science · major: Applied Information Technology
Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Cybersecurity focus
Cybersecurity concentration — Information Security and AssuranceA formal cybersecurity concentration, track or specialization inside a broader degree such as computer science or information technology. The awarded degree is the broader one.
Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
School
Location
Towson, MDFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
Specializations
Information Assurance — formal concentration / track (“Information Security and Assurance”)
Required credits
at least 30 units
Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Typically, a full-time student completes the program in four semesters; part-time students taking two courses a semester can complete it in two years. (full-time (four semesters) or part-time two courses per semester (two years))A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Why this program is listed

Specialization delivered as an integrated graduate certificate that the MS requires; the catalog calls these IT-related concentrations. Flagged for review because the formal unit is a certificate embedded in the degree. Included by the owner (bulk decision, 12 October 2026).

The MS requires completing an integrated graduate certificate; the Information Security and Assurance specialization requires Information Systems Vulnerability and Risk Analysis, Network Security and Case Studies in Information Security.

Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list cybersecurity bachelor's, master's and research doctorates at institutionally accredited US schools — dedicated degrees and formal concentrations, never certificates or electives-only degrees. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus · Online
Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Online delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.All coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.
Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Campus visits (online option)
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule (online option)
Not verified
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

The program page does not say whether the online option requires campus visits. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Capstone

  • One case study course with a real-world project in the selected specialization, typically in the last semester.
    Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Technical preparation

Programming prerequisite
RequiredAIT 500 is an additional graduation requirement for students without 6 credits of programming, scripting and data structures coursework
Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.00 on a 4-point scale for full admission; 2.75 for conditional admission
Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    Nov. 1 · for Spring

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    May 1 (final) · for Summer

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    Aug. 7 (final); priority June 15 · for Fall

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Graduate, main academic campus / online campusFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$586per credit · 2026-2027Calculated tuition$17,580 = 30 credits × $586 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Out-of-state — Graduate, main academic campus / online campusFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$1,212per credit · 2026-2027Calculated tuition$36,360 = 30 credits × $1,212 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Scholarships & funding guide
  • DOD Cyber Scholarship (CYSP) Service scholarship

    Eligibility: Students in all cybersecurity focused programs at Towson.

    Service scholarships carry a service obligation; the school's page did not state its terms.

    Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, ABET and CAE

Three different things: the school's institutional accreditation, ABET accreditation of this exact program, and the school's NSA CAE designation.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

ABET program accreditation

This program does not appear in ABET's accredited-program database. ABET accreditation is program-specific and optional; the school's other programs or its institutional accreditation do not imply it.

NSA CAE designation (school)

  • CAE in Cyber Defense (CAE-CD) · 2002 - 2028Validated program(s) of study: BS in Computer Science with Cyber Operations Track (POS-CO)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
  • CAE in Cyber Operations (CAE-CO) · 2014 - 2029Validated program(s) of study: BS in Computer Science with Cyber Operations Track (POS-CO)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
  • CAE in Cyber Research (CAE-R) · 2026 - 2031Validated program(s) of study: BS in Computer Science with Cyber Operations Track (POS-CO)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026

A CAE designation belongs to the institution and its validated program of study; it is not accreditation and does not certify every degree. Accreditation & CAE explained

State authorization (online students)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Maryland.

International applicants

  • F1 and J1 students must enroll full-time with the majority of classes in person on campus.Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 11, 2026.

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Format: Online
Location: Charles Town, WVSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: $470 per credit · All students — Master's-level standard rate
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation and designation: School designated CAE-CDNSA CAE designation of the institution, not accreditation
Specializations: Information Assurance
View program
Format: Campus
Location: Tucson, AZ
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: In as little as 16 months (Condition not stated on the page) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation and designation: School designated CAE-CD, CAE-CO, CAE-RNSA CAE designation of the institution, not accreditation
Specializations: Information Assurance
View program
Format: Campus · Online · Hybrid
Location: New Castle, DESchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Internship required
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: $1,692 per course · All students — Cost of a typical 3-credit graduate course
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation and designation: School designated CAE-CDNSA CAE designation of the institution, not accreditation
Specializations: Information Assurance
View program

Cybersecurity Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Towson University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.