Skip to content
CybersecurityDegrees
Towson University logo

Towson University · Department of Computer and Information Sciences

BS in Computer Science — Cyber Operations Track

Bachelor'sBSConcentrationOn campusABET-accredited

Overview

The BS in Computer Science offers a 21-unit Cyber Operations track covering systems programming, operating systems and network security, application security, malware analysis and cryptography.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Computer Science — Cyber Operations Track
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science · major: Computer Science
Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Cybersecurity focus
Cybersecurity concentration — Cyber Operations TrackA formal cybersecurity concentration, track or specialization inside a broader degree such as computer science or information technology. The awarded degree is the broader one.
Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
School
Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Towson, MD
Specializations
Cyber Operations — formal concentration / track (“Cyber Operations Track”)
Tracks / concentrations
Cyber Operations Track
Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
Not verified
Duration
Not verified

Entry pathway

Not verified whether this degree admits first-year students or only applicants with prior credits.

Why this program is listed

Formal Cyber Operations track inside the BS in Computer Science with its own required courses.

Formal Cyber Operations track with required courses in operating systems security, network security, application software security, reverse engineering and malware analysis, and cryptography.

Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list cybersecurity bachelor's, master's and research doctorates at institutionally accredited US schools — dedicated degrees and formal concentrations, never certificates or electives-only degrees. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus
Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Computer Science majors complete 66-67 units of shared major requirements plus 15-22 units of electives or track courses (81-89 units).
    Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Undergraduate, full-time (12+ units), main academic campus / online campus, per termFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$3,995per term · 2026-2027Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Out-of-state — Undergraduate, full-time (12+ units), main academic campus / online campus, per termFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$14,124per term · 2026-2027Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other published fees

Differential tuition (junior, senior and second-bachelor students in Computer and Information Sciences; capped at $750 per term)
$63 per creditMandatory
Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Scholarships & funding guide
  • CyberCorps: Scholarship for Service Service scholarship

    Eligibility: Rising junior or senior in Computer Science with a track in computer security; U.S. citizen or permanent resident; GPA 3.0 or better.

    Service scholarships carry a service obligation; the school's page did not state its terms.

    Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • CyberCorps: Scholarship for Service Service scholarship

    Eligibility: U.S. citizen or permanent resident; rising junior or senior in Computer Science with a track in computer security; GPA of 3.0 or better; meet criteria for federal employment; capable of getting a security clearance.

    Obligation: Serve at a federal agency in an information assurance position for a period equivalent to the length of the scholarship or one year, whichever is longer; internship of at least 10 weeks.

    How to apply: Contingent on continued funding by the National Science Foundation.

    Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • DOD Cyber Scholarship (CYSP) Service scholarship

    Eligibility: Students in all cybersecurity focused programs at Towson.

    Service scholarships carry a service obligation; the school's page did not state its terms.

    Source: towson.edu · verified October 11, 2026

School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, ABET and CAE

Three different things: the school's institutional accreditation, ABET accreditation of this exact program, and the school's NSA CAE designation.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

ABET program accreditation

Accredited by ABET — listed as “Computer Science Sub plan: Cyber Operations (BS), CAC” · since December 20, 2019Source: amspub.abet.org · verified October 11, 2026

NSA CAE designation (school)

  • CAE in Cyber Defense (CAE-CD) · 2002 - 2028Validated program(s) of study: BS in Computer Science with Cyber Operations Track (POS-CO)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
  • CAE in Cyber Operations (CAE-CO) · 2014 - 2029Validated program(s) of study: BS in Computer Science with Cyber Operations Track (POS-CO)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026
  • CAE in Cyber Research (CAE-R) · 2026 - 2031Validated program(s) of study: BS in Computer Science with Cyber Operations Track (POS-CO)Source: maps.caecommunity.org · verified October 11, 2026

A CAE designation belongs to the institution and its validated program of study; it is not accreditation and does not certify every degree. Accreditation & CAE explained

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. ABET accredited-program database (amspub.abet.org) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  2. catalog.towson.edu/undergraduate/fisher-science-mathematics/computer-information-sciences/computer-s — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  3. NCAE-C institution directory (National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity) — Source, verified October 11, 2026
  4. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  5. towson.edu/academics/research/center-cybersecurity/resources.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. towson.edu/fcsm/departments/computerinfosci/grad/computersci/index.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. towson.edu/fcsm/departments/computerinfosci/resources/scholarships/cybercorps/eligibility.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  8. towson.edu/fcsm/departments/computerinfosci/undergrad/computersci.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  9. towson.edu/student-university-billing/tuition/differential-charge.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  10. towson.edu/student-university-billing/tuition/fall-spring.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Format: Online
Location: Charles Town, WVSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 122 credits
Tuition: $360 per credit · All students — Undergraduate standard rate
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation and designation: School designated CAE-CDNSA CAE designation of the institution, not accreditation
Specializations: Cyber Operations · Software & Application Security
View program
Format: Campus
Location: Cedarville, OH
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: 4-year residential · 78.5 credits
Tuition: $19,600 (basis not stated by the institution) · All students — Undergraduate block tuition (12–17 credits), residential · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation and designation: School designated CAE-CONSA CAE designation of the institution, not accreditation
Specializations: Cyber Operations
View program
Format: Campus · Fully online · Hybrid
Location: Kennesaw, GASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: Four-year Program · 120 credits
Tuition: $192 per credit · In-state — Undergraduate Student Resident · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation and designation: School designated CAE-CDNSA CAE designation of the institution, not accreditation
Specializations: Cyber Operations
View program

Cybersecurity Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Towson University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.